Emptied pockets

Screen shot 2014-12-17 at 7.17.09 PM

Does this prompt make anyone else want to sing Olivia Newton-John? Hopefully I’m not the only one.

We learned the hard way not to put metro tickets in the same pocket as your phone.

We learned the hard way not to put metro tickets in the same pocket as your phone.

I bought an army green jacket in Paris. It was my first time overseas, the biggest trip I’d ever taken. Growing up, family vacations were at Indiana Beach. I wasn’t much of a traveler. So I sucked at packing and it was freezing, and the jacket was wonderful. I don’t wear it often though. It’s perfect for a fall day, and it seems like Indiana skips over the gorgeous season and goes straight to dark skies and heavy snows. But this year, we’ve had some glorious fall weather.

I know I don’t wear the jacket that often, because I reached into the pocket this weekend and pulled out used metro tickets. I had to smile thinking about piecing my French together to buy them, whether from a teller or machine. I closed my eyes and I was there having pain au chocolat for breakfast and copious amounts of wine and cider at dinner. I remember riding our bus from town to town and staying up late playing cards in our hotel lobbies. And of course, the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, Sacre Coeur, the Louvre, and so on. We packed so much into those three weeks thanks to my wonderful professor.

I feel so fortunate that I had this opportunity to explore more of the world with good company.

Leave a Reply

