My 2014 Book List

I had a goal to read 26 books in 2014 — a book every two weeks. I failed, but 18 isn’t too bad. Here’s what I read last year:

The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger 

Somehow I missed out on this book during my adolescence, but I discovered that you’re never too old for this one. Absolutely loved it. Holden’s hat kills me.

Slam – Nick Hornby

I absolutely adore Nick Hornby. I hadn’t read this YA book, but I was desperately looking for quick reads to meet my reading goal. I failed. And it wasn’t even worth it. I’m not a fan of this book, and that makes me sad.

Everything I Need to Know I Learned From a Little Golden Book – Diane Muldrow

Maybe counting this one is cheating, but who cares. This is a heartwarming nostalgic little book of advice. Anyone who grew up on Little Golden Books should pick this one up. It would make a great graduation gift.

Yes Please – Amy Poehler

Yes, please! I want more and more. My favorite line: “That is the motto women should constantly repeat over and over again. ‘Good for her! Not for me.'”

Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay

I was so excited to read this that I hijacked it while James was in the middle. Great essays that make you think about gender, race, culture. I wouldn’t call her a bad feminist at all. More like honest, unashamed feminist, as we all should be.

Not That Kind of Girl – Lena Dunham

I wanted so badly to love this. I love Lena. I love Girls. I downloaded this book on my Kindle the day it came out. For the most part, these essays just didn’t live up to my high expectations.

The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion

Quick read, quirky, enjoyable. Just imagine Sheldon from Big Bang Theory on a quest to find a wife.

White Noise – Don DeLillo

I gave it a chance. I HATED it. I’ll blame this book for not making my reading goal. I just couldn’t get through it, but I didn’t want to give up.

Dark Places – Gillian Flynn

Some parts were a bit too graphic for my liking. In true Flynn fashion, it’s a page turner. But nothing compares to Gone Girl.

Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn

I enjoyed this more then Dark Places, but again, less than Gone Girl. This one was pretty predictable.

The Glass Castle – Jeannette Walls

This memoir will break your heart into a thousand tiny pieces. But don’t worry, it gets reassembled somewhat. It’s truly inspiring and touching.

Like Life – Lori Moore

I haven’t read very many short story collections, but I finished all my books on our Canada vacation and picked up James’ to read on the way home. I’m glad I did.

If This Isn’t Nice, What Is?: Advice to the Young – The Graduation Speeches – Kurt Vonnegut speeches compiled by Dan Wakefield

We purchased this after seeing Wakefield speak at the Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library. A lot of the speeches are repetitive, but the recurring themes are definitely golden. I’d recommend them to anyone. You don’t have to be young.

Radiance of Tomorrow – Ishmael Beah

I wanted to read this book after seeing Beah speak on Colbert (proof the Colbert bump works!). This is a beautiful book, plus the author favorited my tweet!

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

Could. Not. Put. This. Down. This was by far my best find on $7 bag day at the library book sale. It keeps you guessing until the very end.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? – Mindy Kaling

I love Mindy Kaling, and I would NEVER hang out without her. As expected, this book is hilarious.

Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls – David Sedaris 

Late to the game. This was my first Sedaris, but I loved it.

Me Talk Pretty One Day – David Sedaris

Obviously, I wanted more, so I read this one too. His writing makes me actually laugh out loud. I’m not sure if James needs to read it, because I kept reading parts out loud to him.

I’m not much of a book reviewer, so I hope you enjoyed my two sentences of thoughts on each book. Of course I could go on about any of them. I’m keeping the same goal for 2015 – 26 books. I’ve already started Wild by Cheryl Strayed and How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. What did you read last year?

One thought on “My 2014 Book List

Leave a Reply

